Monday, August 13, 2012

Book Review ~ Wicked Lovely

Cover Courtesy of
Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr
Published: December 2007
Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description from Fantastic Fiction:
The clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in this cool, urban 21st century faery tale. Rule #3: Don't stare at invisible faeries. Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in the mortal world, and would blind her if they knew of her Sight. Rule #2: Don't speak to invisible faeries. Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer. Rule #1: Don't ever attract their attention. But it's too late. Keenan is the Summer King and has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. He is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost! Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working any more, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; her life; everything.

YA Staff Review:
This isn’t your Tinkerbell fairytale. Based on Irish fairy lore this book explains some of the history of faery and one modern girls destiny to collide with it. Aislinn (Ash) is raised to dispise and fear the fae. Raised by her grandmother, Ash has learned important rules to keep her faery Sight unknown to the fae for her own protection. She has seen how faeries love to play tricks on humans whom can’t see them. If you like this book it is only the first in the series. Melissa Marr has finished this series so you don’t have to wait for the final book to be published to see how this series wraps up.

Series Order:

  1. 1.       Wicked Lovely (2007)
  2. 2.       Ink Exchange (2008)
  3. 3.       Fragile Eternity (2009)
  4. 4.       Radiant Shadows (2010)
  5. 5.       Darkest Mercy (2011)